Tempo and The Black Hat Collective came together to give local artists the opportunity to sketch last night’s dress rehearsal of Donizetti’s Mary Stuart. Since I need more music and life drawing in my life, I jumped at the chance. Here is what I left with:

Some quick ‘n dirty Elizabeth sketches.

Here I was focusing on the costume. I only wish I’d been able to see more of the details.

Color was used creatively in the settings, lighting, and costumes. Mary’s veil was not actually red in the scene below, but she does wear a red costume later, when she is about to be executed. I used red here as embellishment because the color was symbolic of Mary’s inner turmoil and martyrdom, and I wanted to bring that rawness into the drawing.

Thanks again to Tempo and BHC for making this possible! It was a great night.
Here is an informative and thoughtful review of the show by Max Sparber at MinnPost:
Exquisite Agony

Kevin Cannon has posted his sketches here:
Big Time Attic Blog

Ken Avidor was there too:
Twin Cities Urban Sketchers

If you were there and you have sketches posted at your website, let me know in the comments section, and I’ll add your link to this post.

